EU regulation
547/2012

EU regulation 547/2012 Important changes

At the start of 2013, the abovementioned EU regulation came into effect as the implementation of the Ecodesign Directive 125 / 2009. With this regulation, the EU pursues the objective of successively increasing the efficiency of certain products over the next few years. Manufacturers use the minimum efficiency index (MEI) in declaring their products to be “water pumps” that fall within the scope of the regulation. This forms part of the EC Declaration of Conformity for the pumps concerned.

In the first stage, which enters into force on 1 January 2013, the legislative authority requires compliance with a MEI > 0.1. In the second stage, which comes into effect on 1 January 2015, this value increases to > 0.4. The date on which the pump is placed on the market applies.

Furthermore, this regulation provides the information about the efficiency in the optimal duty point of the centrifugal pump. The minimum efficiency index (MEI) is a decimal value which is always > 0. The MEI to be specified refers to the speed 1450 or 2900/min. In addition, the determined MEI of a pump applies to the full impeller diameter for which the pump was developed. In the case of trimmed or corrected impeller diameters for the purposes of attaining certain duty points, the actual MEI deviates towards reduced efficiency, whereby there is a lower energy consumption here than for the pump with a full impeller diameter. Hydraulic efficiency of corrected impellers is indicated in the respective data sheets or brochures.

Pumps from Herborner Pumpentechnik which were developed for pumping “clean” water (e. g. herborner.F), display, as required, the information on the name plate and accordingly provide additional information in the documentation and in the operating manuals.

Supplementary information on the name plate:

  • Minimum efficiency index MEI ≥ [x.xx], e.g. MEI ≥ [0.10]
  • Hydraulic pump efficiency (in %) or the indication [–,-] for corrected/ trimmed impeller diameters

Supplementary information in the corresponding documentation (e. g. operating manual), which was not yet stated in data sheets/ brochures, operating manuals or the name plates of pumps:

1. Standard texts:

  • “The benchmark for most efficient water pumps is MEI ≥ 0,70”, or, alternatively, the indication “Benchmark MEI ≥ 0,70”
  • “The efficiency of a pump with a trimmed impeller is usually lower than that of a pump with the full impeller diameter. The trimming of the impeller will adapt the pump to a fixed duty point, leading to reduced energy consumption. The minimum efficiency index (MEI) is based on the full impeller diameter.”
  • “The operation of this water pump with variable duty points may be more efficient and economic when controlled, for example, by the use of a variable speed drive that matches the pump duty to the system.”
  • “Information on benchmark efficiency is available at [http://europump.net/publications/guides-and-guidelines]"

2. Information relevant for disassembly, recycling or disposal at end-of- life.

3. Benchmark efficiency graph for MEI = 0.7 and MEI = 0.4 can be found at [www.europump.org/efficiencycharts]"

Pumps excluded from the regulation

Pumps, whose hydraulics were developed for pumping other media such as dirty water, do not receive the previously described information. These include pump hydraulics with deviating designs (e.g. swimming pool water circulation pumps with integrated dirt filter) or pumps with open impellers for possible dirty water pumping. Additionally excluded are special pump designs for low or high-temperature application (< 10 °C or > 120 °C), fire extinguishing pumps, self-priming pumps or also dis- placement pumps.

EU-Verordnung
547/2012

EU-Verordnung 547/2012 Wichtige Änderungen

Mit Beginn des Jahres 2013 tritt die oben genannte EU Verordnung als Umsetzung der Ökodesign Richtlinie 125 / 2009 in Kraft. Mit dieser Verordnung verfolgt die EU das Ziel, die Effizienz bestimmter Produkte über die nächsten Jahre sukzessive zu steigern. Über die Definition des Mindesteffizienzindex (MEI) werden „Wasserpumpen“, die in den Anwendungsbereich der Verordnung fallen, durch den Hersteller selbst erklärt. Für betroffene Pumpen ist dies Teil der EG Konformitätserklärung.

Der Gesetzgeber fordert im ersten Schritt, der ab dem 01.01.2013 vollzogen wird die Einhaltung eines MEI > 0,1. In einem zweiten Schritt der ab 01.01.2015 gefordert wird, steigert sich dieser Wert auf > 0,4. Es gilt das Datum der Inverkehrbringung.

Im Weiteren sieht diese Verordnung die Angabe des Wirkungsgrads im optimalen Betriebspunkt der Kreiselpumpe vor. Der Mindesteffizienzindex (MEI) ist ein Dezimalwert, der immer > 0 ist. Der anzugebende MEI bezieht sich auf die Drehzahl 1450 oder 2900/min. Daneben gilt der ermittelte MEI einer Pumpe für den vollen Laufraddurchmesser, für den die Pumpe entwickelt wurde. Bei abgedrehtem bzw. korrigiertem Laufraddurchmesser zum Erreichen bestimmter Betriebspunkte weicht der tatsächliche MEI in Richtung eines schlechteren Wirkungsgrads ab, wobei sich dennoch ein geringerer Energieverbrauch einstellt, als bei der Pumpe mit vollem Laufraddurchmesser. Der hydraulische Wirkungsgrad korrigierter Laufräder kann den jeweiligen Datenblättern bzw. Prospekten entnommen werden.

Pumpen der Herborner Pumpentechnik, die als Wasserpumpen zum Fördern von „sauberem“ Wasser entwickelt wurden (z. B. herborner.F), weisen, wie gefordert die Angaben auf dem Typenschild aus und liefern dementsprechend zusätzliche Informationen in den Dokumenten wie den Betriebsanleitungen.

Ergänzende Angaben auf dem Typenschild:

  • Mindesteffizienzindex MEI ≥ [x,xx], z.B. MEI ≥ [0,10]
  • Hydraulischer Pumpenwirkungsgrad (in %), bzw. bei korrigiertem/abgedrehtem Laufraddurchmesser die Angabe [–,-]

Ergänzende Angaben in den entsprechenden Dokumentationen (z.B. Betriebsanleitung) die bisher noch nicht in Datenblättern/ Prospekten, Betriebsanleitungen oder dem Typenschild der Pumpen benannt wurden:

1. Standardtexte:

  • „Der Referenzwert MEI für Wasserpumpen mit dem besten Wirkungsgrad ist ≥ 0,70“ oder alternativ die Angabe „Referenzwert MEI ≥ 0,70““
  • „Der Wirkungsgrad einer Pumpe mit einem korrigierten Laufrad ist gewöhnlich niedriger als der einer Pumpe mit vollem Laufraddurchmesser. Durch die Korrektur des Laufrads wird die Pumpe an einen bestimmten Betriebspunkt angepasst, wodurch sich der Energieverbrauch verringert. Der Mindesteffizienzindex (MEI) bezieht sich auf den vollen Laufraddurchmesser.“
  • „Der Betrieb dieser Wasserpumpe bei unterschiedlichen Betriebspunkten kann effizienter und wirtschaftlicher sein, wenn sie z. B. mittels einer variablen Drehzahlsteuerung gesteuert wird, die den Pumpenbetrieb an das System anpasst.“
  • „Informationen zum Effizienzreferenzwert sind unter [http://europump.net/publications/guides-and-guidelines] abrufbar.

2.Informationen über das Zerlegen und Recyclen bzw. die Entsorgung nach der endgültigen Außerbetriebnahme.

3. Referenzwertdarstellung für MEI = 0,7 und MEI = 0,4 sind unter [www.europump.org/efficiencycharts] abrufbar.

Von der Verordnung ausgenommene Pumpen

Pumpen, deren Hydraulik für die Förderung anderer Medien wie Schmutzwasser entwickelt wurden, erhalten zuvor beschriebene Angaben nicht. Hierunter fallen z.B. Pumpenhydrauliken mit abweichenden Bauformen (z.B. Badewasserumwälzpumpen mit integriertem Schmutzfilter) oder Pumpen mit offenen Laufrädern zur möglichen Schmutzwasserförderung. Ausgenommen sind zudem spezielle Pumpenausführungen für die Tief- oder Hochtemperaturanwendung (< 10 °C oder > 120 °C), Feuerlöschpumpen, selbstansaugende Pumpen oder auch Verdrängerpumpen.