EU regulation
640/2009

EU regulation 640/2009 EU continues to reduce the energy consumption of pumps

New energy-related product requirements from 2015

New legislation to force energy efficiency improvements: The next eco-design requirement of EU regulation no. 640/2009 which is part of the implementation of Directive 2005/32/EC, with heightened requirements for electric motors, will come into effect as of 1 January, 2015. This is intended to reduce the energy consumption of pumps and other rotary powered machines throughout Europe. The regulation specifically stipulates that electric motors that are to be brought newly onto the market, in the nominal performance range of 7.5 to 375 kW and intended for operation on the mains, must at least have the IE3 efficiency class. IE2 motors produced before then will only be permitted on the market and operated together with a converter.

From 1 January 2017 this requirement will then also apply to motors that are in the nominal performance range of 0.75 to 7.5 kW. Exceptions to this regulation are submersible and integrated motors whose efficiency cannot be separately determined. Other exceptions apply to motors that have an installation altitude of over 4,000 m or an ambient temperature of less than -30°C or more than 60°C, or if the motor is to be used with the relevant authorisations in potentially explosive areas.

The permanent magnet motor from Herborner Pumpen

The topic of energy efficiency has been tackled by Herborner Pumpen for a long time. By 2010 the company had already achieved enormous energy savings for Herborner pump types with the use of highly efficient permanent magnet motors (PM motors). The use of IE5 motors has launched a new era of energy efficiency in pump technology: PM motors (permanent magnet motors) of energy class IE5 reduce the losses compared to IE4 motors by a further 20%. In this context the motors improve efficiency by up to 13%. The drives of PM motors require frequency converters, which allow the pumps to be adjusted to existing plant requirements. This makes further energy savings possible. These motors also achieve significant savings compared to asynchronous motors with regard to speed control.

Although submersible motor pumps are not affected by the new directive, these were also taken into account when energy use was scrutinised and developed further by Herborner Pumpen so that the submersible motor series could also be upgraded to IE3. With these motors, the UNIVERS-T- IE3 pumps help the operators achieve significant savings.

Fast amortisation

Greater performance thanks to higher efficiency, lower operating costs thanks to reduced energy consumption and therefore less CO2 emissions - those are the significant features of the new IE5 motor technology. "The essential advantage of our energy-optimised pumps lies in the considerable increase in efficiency. This gives you higher performance with very low life cycle costs," explained Sascha Korupp, technical manager at Herborner Pumpentechnik. Therefore the investment in new pump technology is also quickly recovered. Depending on the pump performance and operating time, the investment is paid off in less than 1.5 years, and that several times over!

EU-Verordnung
640/2009

EU-Verordnung 640/2009 EU senkt weiter den Energieverbrauch von Pumpen

Neue ErP-Anforderungen ab 2015

Energieeffizienz wird auch vom Gesetzgeber weiter forciert: Ab dem 1. Januar 2015 tritt die nächste Ökodesign-Anforderung der EU-Verordnung Nr. 640/2009, zur Durchführung der Richtlinie 2005/32/EG, mit erhöhten Wirkungsgrad-Anforderungen an Elektromotoren in Kraft. Damit will sie den Energieverbrauch von Pumpen und anderen angetriebenen Maschinen europaweit weiter senken. Konkret schreibt die Verordnung vor, dass Elektromotoren, welche neu in Verkehr gebracht werden, mit einer Nennausgangsleistung von 7,5 bis 375 kW, die für den Betrieb am Netz bestimmt sind, mindestens die Effizienzklasse IE3 haben müssen. Die bisherigen IE2-Motoren dürfen dann lediglich in Verbindung mit Umrichtern in den Markt kommen und betrieben werden.

Ab 1. Januar 2017 gilt diese Anforderung dann auch für Motoren mit einer Nennausgangsleistung von 0,75 bis 7,5 kW. Ausnahmen dieser Regelung sind getauchte und eingebaute Motoren, deren Energieeffizienz nicht unabhängig von diesem Produkt erfasst werden kann. Weitere Ausnahmen gelten für Motoren, deren Aufstellhöhe über 4000 m, deren Umgebungstemperatur weniger als -30°C oder mehr als 60°C beträgt oder, wenn der Motor mit den entsprechenden Zulassungen in explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen eingesetzt werden soll.

Der Permanent-Magnet-Motor von Herborner Pumpen

Das Thema Energieeffizienz wird bei Herborner Pumpen seit langem angegangen. Bereits im Jahr 2010 hat das Unternehmen mit dem Einsatz der äußerst effizienten Permanent-Magnet-Motoren (PM-Motoren) enorme Energieeinsparungen bei den Herborner Pumpentypen erzielt. Mit dem Einsatz von IE5-Motoren wird ein neues Zeitalter der Energieeffizienz in der Pumpentechnik eingeläutet: Die PM-Motoren (Permanent-Magnet-Motoren) der Energieklasse IE5 reduzieren die Verluste gegenüber IE4-Motoren um weitere 20 %. Dabei verbessern die Motoren den Wirkungsgrad um bis zu 13%. Für den Antrieb von PM-Motoren werden Frequenzumrichter benötigt, womit sich die Pumpen auf die vorhandenen Anlagenbedürfnisse einstellen lassen. Das macht weitere Energieeinsparung möglich. Zudem erreichen diese Motoren erhebliche Einsparungen gegenüber Asynchronmotoren bei der Drehzahlregelung.

Obwohl Tauchmotorpumpen nicht von der neuen Richtlinie betroffen sind, hat man diese bei Herborner Pumpen ebenfalls unter die „Energielupe“ genommen und weiterentwickelt, so dass auch die Tauchmotorenbaureihe auf IE3 angehoben werden konnte. Die UNIVERS-T- IE3 Pumpen helfen den Betreibern hierüber erhebliche Einsparungen zu erzielen.

Schnelle Amortisierung

Mehr Leistung durch höhere Wirkungsgrade, weniger Betriebskosten dank geringerem Energieverbrauch und dadurch auch ein geringer CO2-Ausstoß – das sind die maßgeblichen Merkmale der neuen IE5-Motorentechnik. „Der wesentliche Vorteil unserer energetisch optimierten Pumpen besteht darin, dass sie den Wirkungsgrad erheblich verbessern. So sorgen sie für mehr Leistung bei sehr geringen Life-Cycle-Costs“, erklärt Sascha Korupp, Technischer Leiter der Herborner Pumpentechnik. Daher macht sich eine Investition in die neue Pumpentechnik auch schnell bezahlt. Je nach Pumpenleistung und -laufzeit amortisiert sich die Investition vielfach in weniger als 1,5 Jahren.