Development through continuous change 140 year old success story

Since 1874, when Heinrich Hoffmann founded this tradition-rich company in Littau, opposite the railway station in Herborn, flexibility and adaptability have been among its central characteristics. In order to reduce the length of the company's production pathways, Hoffmann built a foundry three years after the company was founded. The horse capstan used at the start was replaced in 1879 with a steam engine. The drive of the engineers to continually develop the company's products resulted in a constant stream of innovations. The values that still define the company today were already clear in its early years. As a result of the company's continual growth and having the courage needed to take groundbreaking decisions, we now have a second company site in Landsberg an der Saale in addition to our headquarters in Herborn. This ensures that customers receive the best possible support and a nationwide service can be provided.

The company history of the Herborner Pumpentechnik in figures


  • 1874

    Johann Heinrich Hoffmann founded the traditional company, opposite the Herborner railway station

  • 1877 - 1884

    Purchase of a steam engine, building of own foundry and a dry oven

  • 1892

    The company name is “Maschinenbau, Eisen- und Metallgießerei”

  • 1895

    Transformation into an oHG

  • 1900

    Building of a new foundry which was extended already two years later

  • 1903

    Transformation into a GmbH. The sole shareholders are Fritz Hoffmann and August Remy. The business was "pump and machine production, casting of iron and metal, purchasing and sales of machines, iron and metal goods as well as the operation of a brick production and other ancillary trades"

  • 1915

    Death of founder J. H. Hoffmann with 84 years. At his 80th birthday he became honorary citizen of Herborn

  • 1944

    On he 24th of November the company was nearly fully destroyed by the war

    The years after the world war were used for rebuilding and modernising the company and the production. At first the Herborner Pumpentechnik made high quality pumps for the industry.

  • 1970 - 1974

    Extensive modernisation measures: With a new rotary calcining kiln, a new test field and the renewed foundry acc. to environmental protection requirements the company reached the top of the pump industry in Europe.

  • 1991

    Reconstruction of the foundry with an automatic molding equipment

  • 1995

    Founding of the second production place in Landsberg/Saale as sales and mounting headquarter

  • 1998

    Completion of a new production hall in Herborn to increase the capacity, use of 3D-CAD

  • 2001

    Investment of around 2.5 million euros in new CNC machines and a pump test field.

    Market introduction of motor-mounted frequency converters ("compact drive")

  • 2002

    Opening of the East-Europe-Office in Landsberg/Saale for the future market of East Europe.

    Market launch of heat exchanger motors in water-cooled “C”-version that give back 95% of the lost heat to the media

  • 2004 - 2006

    Modernisation of the foundry with sand preparation, mixer technique, laboratory and sandblast room

  • 2006

    Presentation of the new series "UNIGUM": Sewage Pumps with internal rubber lining to prevent wear

  • 2007

    Investment of one million euros in a linkage of the processing centres as well as a new 5-axle-turning-milling-centre to improve productivity. Start of CAD/CAM production

  • 2008

    New construction of a high rack warehouse and transmission department

  • 2009

    Investment of more than one million euros for the restructuring of the pump production including the construction of three assembly lines with product specific test fields as well as a mobile racking system.

    Presentation of the new motor technology of PM motors (permanent magnet motors) for maximum energy efficiency

  • 2012

    After a 5 year development period we prensented our new series "herborner" with a worldwide unique 100%-HPC-coating

  • 2017

    "Redesign and reorganisation of the foundry with new production facilities.

    Presentation of the Pump Energizer, a further development of the herborner pump series and a compact unit with a 100% coating, the largest possible impeller diameter, a permanent magnet motor with IE5 and thus the highest currently achievable motor efficiency as well as an integrated frequency converter.

    A new generation of energy-efficient pumps that sets standards."


Innovations shape the future

Our long history is one of outstanding engineering, innovative products and numerous new milestones. The emphasis in the company's early years was on slurry pumps and beet cutters, but the portfolio of products developed over time. What has remained constant throughout, however, is an ability to meet customers' rising demands and repeatedly enthuse them with new technological solutions. A self-imposed quality principle was defined as a standard around 1900.

The continual development and expansion of the production programme played a key role in the company's business success. Already in the early years, the company began to manufacture pumps for different applications in addition to agricultural equipment. Many different types were developed: hand pumps, rotary piston pumps, centrifugal pumps and diaphragm pumps. As time went on, all the company's different pumps were developed as modular systems. Modular design still forms the basis of all the company's successful new developments.

Historie

Entwicklung durch kontinuierlichen Wandel Eine 140-jährige Erfolgsgeschichte

Seit den Gründertagen des Jahres 1874 als Heinrich Hoffmann das Traditionsunternehmen in der Littau – direkt gegenüber des Herborner Bahnhofs – aus der Taufe gehoben hat, zählen Flexibilität und Wandlungsfähigkeit zu den zentralen Unternehmens-Charakteristika. Um Herstellungswege zu verkürzen, errichtete Hoffmann drei Jahre nach der Unternehmensgründung eine vorgeschaltete Gießerei. Ein anfänglich vorhandener Göpelbetrieb wich schon 1879 dem Dampfmaschinenbetrieb. Dem Drang zur ständigen Entwicklung folgten die Ingenieure mit der kontinuierlichen Entwicklung der Produkte. Die bis heute gültige Wertebasis wurde dem Unternehmen gewissermaßen in die Wiege gelegt. Kontinuierliches Wachstum und der Mut zu wegweisenden Entscheidungen hat dazu geführt, dass das Unternehmen heute nicht nur über den Stammsitz im hessischen Herborn verfügt, sondern auch über eine Niederlassung in Landsberg an der Saale. Dadurch sind die optimale Betreuung der Kunden und ein flächendeckender Service gewährleistet.



Die Firmengeschichte der Herborner Pumpentechnik in Zahlen

1874

  • 1874

    Johann Heinrich Hoffmann gründet das Traditionsunternehmen in der Littau, gegenüber des Herborner Bahnhofs

  • 1877 - 1884

    Anschaffung einer Dampfmaschine, Bau einer eigenen Gießerei und eines Trockenofens

  • 1892

    Firmierung unter dem Namen „Maschinenbau, Eisen- und Metallgießerei“

  • 1895

    Umwandlung in eine oHG

  • 1900

    Bau einer neuen Gießerei, die bereits zwei Jahre später erweitert werden musste

  • 1903

    Umwandlung in eine GmbH. Alleinige Gesellschafter sind Fritz Hoffmann und August Remy. Aufgaben des Unternehmens sind der Betrieb einer „Pumpen- und Maschinenfabrik, einer Eisen- und Metallgießerei, der Ein- und Verkauf von Maschinen, Eisen- und Metallwaren aller Art sowie der Betrieb einer Ziegelei und sonstiger Nebengewerbe“

  • 1915

    Der anlässlich seines 80. Geburtstag im Jahr 1910 zum Ehrenbürger von Herborn ernannte Firmengründer J. H. Hoffmann stirbt im Alter von 84 Jahren

  • 1944

    Am 24. November kommt es zur fast vollständigen Zerstörung beim ersten Tiefflieger-Angriff auf Herborn

    Die Nachkriegsjahre stehen ganz im Zeichen des Wiederaufbaus, der Modernisierung des Unternehmens und der Produktneuausrichtung. Die Herborner Pumpentechnik entwickelte zunächst vor allem hochwertige Pumpen für Industrieanlagen.

  • 1970 - 1974

    Umfangreiche Modernisierungsmaßnahmen: Mit einem neuen Drehtrommelofen, einem neuen Prüfstand und dem umweltgerechten Neubau der Gießerei schafft die Herborner Pumpentechnik den Weg an die Spitze der Pumpenindustrie in Europa

  • 1991

    Umbau der Gießerei mit Errichtung der automatischen Formanlage

  • 1995

    Errichtung eines zweiten Unternehmensstandort in Landsberg/Saale als Service- und Montagestützpunkt

  • 1998

    Fertigstellung einer neuen Produktionshalle in Herborn für den Kapazitätsausbau, Einführung von 3D-CAD.

  • 2001

    Investition von rund 2,5 Millionen Euro in neue CNC-Maschinen und einen Pumpenprüfstand.

    Markteinführung motoraufgebauter Frequenzumrichter ("Kompaktantrieb")

  • 2002

    Eröffnung des Osteuropa-Büros in Landsberg/Saale für den Zukunftsmarkt Osteuropa.

    Markteinführung der Wärmetauschermotoren in der Ausführung „C“, welche 95 % der Verlustwärme dem Medium zur Verfügung stellen

  • 2004 - 2006

    Modernisierung der Gießerei mit Einzelinvestitionen in Sandaufbereitung, Mischertechnik, Labor und Putzhaus

  • 2006

    Vorstellung der Baureihe UNIGUM: Abwasserpumpen mit Innengummierung gegen Verschleiß

  • 2007

    Investition von einer Million Euro in die Verkettung der Bearbeitungszentren sowie in ein neues 5-Achs-Dreh-Fräszentrum, um die Produktivität zu verbessern. Beginn der CAD/CAM-Fertigung

  • 2008

    Neubau des Logistikzentrums mit Hochregallager und Versandbereich

  • 2009

    Investition von mehr als einer Million Euro in die Neustrukturierung der Pumpenmontage und dem Aufbau von drei Montagelinien mit produktionsintegrierten Prüfständen sowie einem Verschieberegalsystem.

    Präsentation der neuen Motorentechnik der PM-Motoren (Permanent-Magnet-Motoren) für höchste Energieeffizienz

  • 2012

    Fünf Jahre Entwicklungszeit münden in der Vorstellung der neuen Baureihe „herborner“ mit der weltweit wohl einzigartigen 100 % HPC-Beschichtung

  • 2017

    Neugestaltung und Neuausrichtung der Gießerei mit neuen Produktionsanlagen.

    Präsentation der Weiterentwicklung der Pumpenbaureihe „herborner“ zum „Pump Energizer“ als Kompaktaggregat mit 100 % Beschichtung, größtmöglichem Laufraddurchmesser, Permanent-Magnet-Motor mit IE5 und damit höchster derzeit erreichbarer Motoreffizienz, sowie integriertem Frequenzumrichter.

    Eine neue Generation energieeffizienter Pumpen, die Maßstäbe setzt.

2018



Innovationen formen die Zukunft

Herausragende Ingenieurleistungen, innovative Produkte und zahlreiche Meilensteine haben unsere lange Geschichte immer wieder maßgeblich geprägt. Standen in den Anfangsjahren Jauchepumpen oder Rübenschneider im Vordergrund, so hat sich das Produktportfolio im Laufe der Zeit entwickelt. Als Konstante ist es aber über alle Jahre gelungen, die steigenden Ansprüche der Kunden zu erfüllen und sie mit neuen technologischen Lösungen immer wieder aufs Neue zu begeistern. Ein selbst auferlegtes Qualitätsprinzip wurde schon um das Jahr 1900 als Standard definiert.

Die kontinuierliche Entwicklung und Ausweitung des Produktionsprogramms trug maßgeblich zum wirtschaftlichen Erfolg bei. So wurde schon in den frühen Jahren neben der Herstellung landwirtschaftlicher Geräte auch die Fertigung für Pumpen unterschiedlicher Einsatzbereiche aufgenommen. Daraus entwickelten sich viele Konstruktionen wie z.B. Handpumpen, Kreiskolbenpumpen, Zentrifugal- und Membranpumpen. Nach und nach wurden alle Pumpenbaureihen als Baukastensysteme ausgebaut. Bis heute dienen diese als Basis erfolgreicher Neuentwicklungen.